About the Wisconsin Historical Society Board of Curators | Wisconsin Historical Society

Organizational Description

About the Wisconsin Historical Society Board of Curators

About the Wisconsin Historical Society Board of Curators | Wisconsin Historical Society

The Wisconsin Historical Society is both a state agency and a membership organization. The Society's Board of Curators includes eight statutory appointments and up to 30 curators who are selected according to the Society's constitution and bylaws. The three curators appointed by the governor with Senate consent serve staggered three-year terms. The board selects the Society's director, who serves as administrative head of the Society and as secretary to the board.

Board of Curators Members
Angela Bartell
MiddletonRetired Judge, Dane County
Donald Schott
MadisonRetired attorney
Greg Huber
WausauRetired Judge, Marathon County
Walter Rugland
AppletonRetired Executive Vice President, Thrivent Financial for Lutherans
Christian Overland
MadisonThe Ruth and Hartley Barker Director & CEO, Wisconsin Historical Society
Marcia AndersonVeronaRetired U.S. Army Reserve Major General; Retired Clerk of Court WI Western District U.S. Bankruptcy Court
Ex-Officio Board Member
Cindy Arbiture
 SullivanPresident, Wisconsin Council for Local History
Sherman BankerMadisonRetired State Employee (Governor Appointee)
Rep. Jill BillingsLa CrosseWisconsin State Legislator
Eric BorgerdingMadisonPresident and CEO, Wisconsin Hospital Association
Mary BuestrinMequonRepublican National Committee
Jeffrey CheneySheboyganRetired Senior Vice President-Finance & Chief Financial Officer - Kohler
Ex-Officio Board Member
Laura Cramer
NeenahPresident, FRIENDS of the Wisconsin Historical Society
Ex-Officio Board Member
Patrick Fee
WauwatosaChair, Wisconsin Historical Foundation, Board of Directors
Ramona GonzalezLa CrosseCircuit Court Judge, La Crosse County
Mary Jane HerberDe PereBrown County Library
Joanne HuelsmanWaukeshaRetired Attorney and Wisconsin State Legislator
Rep. William PentermanColumbusWisconsin State Legislator
Susan McLeodMahtomedi, MNFormer Director, Chippewa Valley Museum
Janan NajeebMequonPresident, Milwaukee Muslim Women's Coalition
Lowell PetersonAppletonRetired Cardiologist
Sondy PopeMadisonFormer Wisconsin State Legislator
Julie RaglandMilwaukeeChief Information Officer, Senior Vice President - Navistar
Thomas Shriner Jr.ShorewoodAttorney
Robert SmithMilwaukeeAssociate Professor, Marquette University Department of History
Leonard SobczakMilwaukeeEastmore Real Estate Mgt.
John ThompsonMadisonFounder, Thompson Investment Management, Inc.
Dr. Chia Youyee VangGlendaleProfessor, UW Milwaukee Department of History
Sen. Van WanggaardRacineWisconsin State Legislator
Keene WintersWausauInvestment Advisor, Great Lakes Financial Management Group (Governor Appointee)
Terri YohoAdellConsultant - Kohler Foundation
Cate ZeuskeGreen BayConsultant (Governor Appointee)
Aharon ZoreaRichland CenterProfessor of History, University of Wisconsin-Richland Center
Sen. Lena TaylorMilwaukeeWisonsin State Legislator

Learn More

Have Questions?

If you would like to reach a board member, please contact the Director's Office at 608-264-6440